Septic permits near Dallas-Fort Worth: Collin, Denton, Rockwall, Tarrant, Dallas

Around Dallas-Fort Worth, each county runs its own septic permit program outside most city limits, and several cities and a water district run their own. Collin, Rockwall and Tarrant counties set minimum lot sizes of one acre or more, and all five publish rules for aerobic systems. [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6]

Last checked · sources below · about this page · Markdown version

The five counties side by side

Septic permitting in five Dallas-Fort Worth counties, as each county publishes it
CountyWho issues permitsPublished fee for a houseMinimum lot sizeAerobic systemsSource
CollinCollin County Development Services, unless your city is listed as its own authorized agentNo fee listed on the county page1 acre (1.5 with a well) for lots divided 1983-2008; 1 usable acre (1.5 with a well) since 2008Three forms when the property is sold[1]
DentonDenton County Public Health, Environmental Health Division (unincorporated county)$310 for a system; $100 for repairs or other changesNot stated in the county handoutContract on file 30 days before the old one expires, or approved homeowner training[7], [5]
RockwallRockwall County Environmental Health CoordinatorNo fee listed on the county page1.5 acres per dwellingMaintenance contract required[8], [3]
TarrantTarrant County for 23 cities and the unincorporated county; some cities and a water district run their own programsNo fee listed on the county page1 acre, net of easements, for single-family subdivisions (Nov. 2025 order)Spray disposal needs a disinfection stage and an ongoing maintenance contract[6], [2]
DallasDallas County Health and Human Services, Environmental Division$260Not stated on the applicationSpray systems need a maintenance contract and a recorded affidavit[9], [4]
How many permits each county issued in 2025

As TCEQ's authorized agent in 2025, Collin County issued 620 septic permits (authorizations to construct), 428 of them for surface (spray) irrigation; Denton 325 (293 spray); Tarrant 273 (184); Dallas 80 (61); Rockwall 51 (47). Cities and other agencies inside these counties report separately. [10]

See also: Septic system permits issued (authorizations to construct) in 2025 by each county as TCEQ's authorized agent

Check who covers your address

A city may be the permitting authority inside its limits. TCEQ's OARS lookup lists the authorized agents in each county. [11] [12]

Collin County

Where to apply

Outside city limits, apply through Collin County's Citizen Self-Service portal. Inside a city you may still have to apply to the county: the county says to check TCEQ's list of authorized agents for Collin, and if your city isn't listed, Collin County is your authorized agent. [1]

Stricter county rules

A county court order (CO No. 2008-187-03-11) adds requirements beyond the state rules. Where the county is the permitting authority, adding a structure or pool, or altering a structure, on a property with a septic system needs a "review of existing OSSF for new construction/improvement" permit. [1]

Minimum lot size

Lots divided between 1983 and 2008 must start with at least 1 acre, or 1.5 acres with a water well. Lots divided in 2008 or later need 1 usable acre, or 1.5 acres with 1 usable acre if there is a well. "Usable" excludes most easements, ponds and similar areas. [1]

Permits expire

After 365 days with no activity, counted from the date of issue. [1]

Buying a home with an aerobic system

Collin County requires three forms: a Change of Ownership form, an Aerobic Wastewater Homeowner's Information sheet, and a maintenance contract in the new owner's name from a licensed maintenance provider, all submitted through its OSSF Report Portal. [1]

See also: Aerobic systems: the maintenance contract

Denton County

Who issues permits

The Environmental Health Division of Denton County Public Health, in the unincorporated parts of the county. A permit is needed to install, repair, extend or alter a system "in any manner". [7] [5]

Published fees

$310 to build a system and $100 for repairs or other modifications, paid when you apply and not refundable. The county handout was revised September 14, 2020. [5]

What a permit needs

The county lists:

  • A floodplain development permit or culvert permit from the county planning department, when required
  • A completed Denton County application, submitted in person
  • Design criteria showing a system can actually be installed and will meet county and TCEQ rules
  • A site evaluation by a licensed professional engineer or a licensed Site Evaluator who holds a Registered Sanitarian license
  • A valid maintenance contract and recorded affidavits, when required

[5]

Final inspection

The county does the final inspection; call at least 2 days ahead. The owner then gets a Notice of Approval, which must be in hand before the system is used. [5]

Aerobic systems

Owners must keep a signed contract with a valid maintenance company and file a copy at least 30 days before the previous contract expires, or have the county's written approval of homeowner training. [5]

Rockwall County

Who issues permits

The Rockwall County Environmental Health Coordinator handles septic permits and inspections and publishes an OSSF permit application, an OSSF affidavit and a Change of Ownership form. Office: 1101 E. Yellowjacket Lane, Suite 130, Rockwall; 972-204-7600. [8]

Contracts and lot size

Rockwall County requires maintenance contracts for all systems using aerobic treatment, and requires 1 1/2 acres per dwelling for a septic system. [3]

Tarrant County

Who issues permits

Tarrant County runs septic inspections and permits for 23 cities and the unincorporated parts of the county. For questions the county lists 817-212-7082. [6]

Other agencies in the county

The county's FAQ names the others: the Tarrant Water Improvement District (only within 2,000 feet of Eagle Mountain Lake), the City of Arlington, the City of Burleson, the City of Fort Worth, and Fort Worth Lake Management in some areas around Lake Worth. TCEQ's 2025 report lists the water district as Tarrant Regional Water District, and also lists the City of Reno and the Town of Flower Mound under Tarrant County. Check OARS for your address. [2] [10] [11]

Minimum lot size

On November 11, 2025, the Commissioners Court adopted Court Order 146317: lots in single-family subdivisions must be at least one acre, net of drainage and floodplain easements. The county adds that nearly all of its unincorporated land is in a city's extraterritorial jurisdiction (an area outside city limits where the city can set subdivision rules). [6]

Spray (surface) disposal

The FAQ says treated effluent can go on the surface only with an approved aerobic unit and a disinfection stage, a design made for that purpose, and an ongoing maintenance contract with periodic testing. [2]

Who can install

A state-licensed installer, or a homeowner for a single-family residence. Multi-family, rental and nonresidential property need a licensed installer. [2]

Dallas County

Who issues permits

Dallas County Health and Human Services' Environmental Health Division reviews designs, issues permits with the authorization to construct, and inspects installations. The application lists (214) 819-2112. [9] [4]

What an application needs

The county form lists:

  • A signed statement from Dallas County Public Works or a city official that the property is not in the 100-year floodplain; all buildings and the system must be out of it
  • A site evaluation by a TCEQ-licensed Site Evaluator
  • A plat or survey
  • A design by a registered sanitarian or registered professional engineer
  • For a spray system: a valid maintenance contract and a recorded affidavit filed against the property deed
  • For an evapotranspiration (ET) drain field: a recorded affidavit stating the flow rate

[4]

Fee and review time

$260 for a residence and $310 for commercial, paid by exact cash, check or money order. Allow at least 30 working days for review. The form is marked revised December 1, 2020. [4]

About this page

What five Dallas-Fort Worth counties publish about septic permits: who issues them, what an application needs, published fees, minimum lot sizes, and what each requires for aerobic systems and home sales.

Key facts
Covers
  • Which office issues septic permits in each county
  • Which other agencies issue permits in Tarrant County
  • What each county's application asks for
  • Published permit fees
  • Minimum lot sizes
  • Aerobic maintenance contract and change-of-ownership rules
  • How many 2025 permits each county issued
Not covered
  • Permits issued by cities inside these counties
  • Statewide rules in detail (see the Texas permit rules page)
Jurisdiction
Collin, Denton, Rockwall, Tarrant and Dallas counties, Texas, where each county is the permitting authority (mostly unincorporated areas). Cities and other agencies issue permits in parts of these counties.
Audience
Homeowners, buyers and landowners in the Dallas-Fort Worth area with, or planning, a septic system (on-site sewage facility, OSSF).
Provides
  • A county-by-county comparison table
  • Each county's published requirements, with links to the county page
  • County contact details as published
Content last changed
Last verified
Primary sources
Other formats
Markdown version

Contacts

Sources

Each fact above cites one or more of these by number. Accessed is the date the source was last re-read.

  1. [1] On-Site Sewage Facilities. Collin County Development Services. Primary source.
    Supports: Collin application portal, authorized agent rule, court order, review permit, lot sizes, permit expiry, three forms at sale, phone.
    Accessed: .
  2. [2] On-Site Sewage Facilities: Frequently Asked Questions. Tarrant County Engineering Services, Environmental Division. Primary source.
    Supports: Tarrant's list of authorized entities, surface disposal conditions, who can install.
    Accessed: .
  3. [3] Frequently Asked Questions (Environmental Health Coordinator). Rockwall County. Primary source.
    Supports: Rockwall requires aerobic maintenance contracts and 1 1/2 acres per dwelling.
    Accessed: .
  4. [4] Application: On-Site Sewage Facility Permit (OSSF). Dallas County Health and Human Services, Environmental Division. Primary source.
    Supports: Dallas application items, spray and ET affidavits, fees, 30 working days, phone.
    Publisher's date: Form marked revised 2020-12-01 (file name says July 2025).
    Accessed: .
  5. [5] What You Must Know: On-Site Sewage Facilities (OSSF). Denton County Public Health. Primary source.
    Supports: Denton permit scope, fees, requirements, final inspection, aerobic contract filing.
    Publisher's date: Handout revised 2020-09-14.
    Accessed: .
  6. [6] On-Site Sewage Facilities. Tarrant County Engineering Services, Environmental Division. Primary source.
    Supports: Tarrant coverage of 23 cities, Court Order 146317 lot size, ETJ note, phone.
    Publisher's date: Page last modified 2026-04-06.
    Accessed: .
  7. [7] Environmental Health Division. Denton County Public Health. Primary source.
    Supports: Denton Environmental Health Division role and phone.
    Accessed: .
  8. [8] Environmental Health Coordinator. Rockwall County. Primary source.
    Supports: Rockwall duties, forms, address and phone.
    Accessed: .
  9. [9] Environmental Health Division. Dallas County Health and Human Services. Primary source.
    Supports: Dallas Environmental Health Division reviews designs, issues permits and inspects.
    Accessed: .
  10. [10] Types of Systems Installed by Time Period, 1/1/2025 to 12/31/2025. Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ). Primary source.
    Supports: 2025 permit and surface irrigation counts by county; authorized agents listed under Tarrant County.
    Publisher's date: Report dated 2026-04-27.
    Accessed: .
  11. [11] OARS: Find a Local Contact (septic permitting authority by county). Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ). Primary source.
    Supports: Authorized agents by county.
    Accessed: .
  12. [12] 30 Tex. Admin. Code § 285.2, Definitions. Texas Administrative Code, via Cornell Legal Information Institute. Primary source.
    Supports: Definition of authorized agent.
    Accessed: .

Page history

  • : First version of this page.